Effective February 15th and through April 30th, there is a 4 PM burning law in effect within Floyd County per the Virginia Department of Forestry. The burning law in brief is as follows:
No burning until after 4:00 p.m. if the fire is within 300 feet of woodland, brushland, or field containing dry grass or other inflammable material.
Fire must be attended at all times if the fire is within 150 feet of woodland or other dry fuel leading to woodland.
No fuel may be added to fire started after midnight.
Law applies to campfires, warming fires, brush piles, household trash, stumps, fields of dry grass and brush, or anything capable of spreading fire.
You can contact the Virginia Department of Forestry for additional information.
You can also download the files below for more information!
Download PDF • 172KB
Download PDF • 1.04MB